Remember one very important thing.  You do not just have to have been drinking in order to get a DUI in the state of Washington.  With the new laws now in place legalizing marijuana in the state of Washington, if you get caught under the influence of it (even as a medicinal user) with 5 nanograms of active THC per milliliter (which equals to be about 0.05 percent blood-alcohol level if you were to take a breathalizer for drinking and driving) you could get a DUI.  This blood alcohol level is less that the DUI limit in the respective state, or even that of California, Oregon,  or Texas, but not that of Colorado.  If you get pulled over in Colorado with a 0.5% BAC, you could face DUI charges.  What does  it mean to be 0.05% or 0.08%, what does it feel like?  Well look below - (provided by Wikepedia)

                       

0.030–0.059

  • BEHAVIOR
  • Mild euphoria
  • Relaxation
  • Joyousness
  • Talkativeness
  • Decreased inhibition
  • IMPAIRMENT
  • Concentration

0.06–0.09

  • Reasoning
  • Depth perception
  • Peripheral vision
  • Glare recovery

 

If you received a DUI in the state of Washington, or know someone who has, you know that the drinking and driving laws in the state are harsh.  Not only will you be receiving mandatory jail time, license suspension, required to get an interlocking device in your car, along with 5 years of probation and alcohol classes.  You will also have to have an SR22 insurance on file with the DMV for 3 years from the date that you are able to REINSTATE your license.  What is an SR22 insurance?  This is a state required form that shows that you are financially responsible to drive in the state of Washington. 

So if you decide to drink or smoke a blunt and then decide that you need to get in your car and drive...don't.  Looking back at the grid above, once you're "behavior" changes and you  are "impaired" to drive, do not go against better judgment and jump in the car.  If you are pulled over by the police you can suffer the consequences of a DUI, or possibly worse.