California State Auto Insurance and DUI / SR-22 Information
At Breathe Easy Insurance Solutions, we understand the California DMV protocol regarding insurance requirements after a DUI. Our strategy regarding SR-22 filing has been tailored to streamline the insurance process while saving our clients thousands of dollars on their insurance. Our trained DUI insurance staff is here to answer any questions you may have regarding DMV rules and regulations, SR-22 filing, and DUI class information.
California state limits regarding impaired drivers is (.08) for drivers over twenty one operating a personal vehicle. Drivers under 21 will face a one year suspension if their BAC results are above .01%.
Minimum Insurance Requirements in CA State
15,000 - Bodily Injury.
30,000 - Bodily injury to all persons involved in accident.
5,000 - Property damage.
What is an SR-22, and how long will I need an SR-22 on file?
The California “Certificate of Financial Responsibility” or SR-22 is required for a three-year probation period. During this time a driver is required to maintain the minimum liability insurance requirements. There are three ways to file the SR-22: 1. Motorcycle Policy 2. Car Insurane Policy 3. Non Owner's Policy. The first two are intended for drivers with the vehicles registered in their name. The non owner’s policy is intended for a driver who does not own a vehicle and wants to satisfy the DMV, or a driver that drives a commercial truck or rents cars often.
Ignition Interlock Device
An Ignition Interlock Device is a device connected to your ignition to measure your blood alcohol level. You will be required to install an IID on your second conviction of a DUI. The court may require you to install an IID for a first time DUI conviction in the pilot counties of: Alameda County, Los Angeles County, Sacramento County and Tulare County. Also, every court has discretion, but is not required, to order an IID for a first time DUI conviction. That is why hiring an attorney can be very critical in your defense.
Additional Fees Associated with a DUI
A $125.00 registration fee must be paid to the DMV in order to obtain your restricted license. Also, a $15.00 duplication fee will be administered to cover the cost of reprinting your license.
|1st DUI||2nd DUI||3rd DUI|
|Fines||$400 - $1000||$500 - $1000||$2500 - $3000|
|Jail Time||24 hours||4 - 30 days||4 - 7 months|
|Suspension||6 month suspension if BAC is under .20%. 10 month suspension if BAC is .20%or more.||2 year suspension.||3 year suspension.|
|Ignition Interlock||Depends on court decision and zip code.||Required||Required|
|Alcohol Classes||Alcohol classes / DUI school for 3 months if BAC is .19 % or less or 9 months if BAC is .20 % or greater or test refusal.||18 - 30 months of alcohol classes / treatment / DUI school.||30 months of alcohol classes / DUI school.|