Oregon State Auto Insurance and DUII / SR-22 information
Breathe Easy Insurance Solutions' DUII/SR22 insurance program was designed to protect our Oregon drivers from extreme premium increases. Our knowledge and DMV training allow us to answer all questions and concerns your may have regarding a DUII. Our exclusive SR-22 filing procedures are implemented through our many insurance carriers to give you the best coverage and pricing options. Our DUII insurance program will give you the ability to maintain the same coverage you had prior to your DUII, while paying a manageable rate.
Oregon law considers a driver under the influence of intoxicants when her or his blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is .08 or above. Oregon follows a zero tolerance rule when it comes to drivers under the age of 21. Commercial drivers must have a BAC lower than .04 to be considered sober.
Minimum Insurance Requirements in OR
25,000 - Bodily injury.
50,000 - Bodily injury to all persons involved in accident.
20,000 - Property damage.
Why does the DMV require an SR-22? How long will I need an SR-22 on file?
An SR-22 is a certificate attached to an insurance policy. The DMV will not provide a restricted license without an SR-22 on file. The SR-22 is also called “proof of financial responsibility,” and the DMV has implemented this certificate to monitor drivers and ensure that they are maintaining the state’s minimum requirements for auto liability insurance. This certificate is typically required after a driver receives a suspended license. Since an SR-22 is attached to an insurance policy, if you do not pay your premium and the policy is canceled, the insurance company carrying the SR-22 will notify the DMV, causing your license to fall back into suspension.
Ignition Interlock Device
An ignition interlock device or (IID) is a breathe analyzer that is connected to a vehicles ignition system. The IID is also connected to a computer system that quantifies your blood alcohol before you are able to operate your vehicle. You simply blow into the device and if intoxicates are found in your blood the vehicle will not start. You can contact the DMV at (503) 945-5400 to find a qualified installer in your area.
Additional Fees Associated with a DUII
The various fees after a DUII conviction include a license reinstatement fee and duplication fee for your license, which will cost approximately $300.00.
The Implied Consent Law in Oregon
Implied consent law states that any person operating a vehicle in the state of Oregon gives her or his consent to submit to a chemical test, whether that test is a urine, blood, or breath test. If a police officer suspects a driver of being intoxicated, the driver can refuse to take the test. However, if the driver refuses to take any of the chemical tests, her or his license will be suspended immediately. A temporary license will be provided to the driver until her or his court hearing. Lastly, refusal can be used against the driver in court as a DUII, and typically the penalties are more harsh than with a regular DUII conviction.
|1st DUI||2nd DUI||3rd DUI|
$1000 - $2000
$1500 - $3500
|$2000 - $4000|
|Jail Time||2 - 10 days in jail.||8 - 30 days in jail.||30 - 180 days in jail.|
|Suspension||1 year suspension.||1 to 3 year suspension (3 years if there was a prior DUI within 5 years).||Permanent revocation.|
|Ignition Interlock||Required for 1 year.||Required for 2 years.||Required for 3 years.|
|Alcohol Classes||Alcohol and drug treatment must be completed, along with participation in the victim-impact panel.||Alcohol and drug treatment must be completed, along with participation in the victim-impact panel.||Alcohol and drug treatment must be completed, along with participation in the victim-impact panel.|