Texas State Auto Insurance and DUI / SR-22 Information
Getting a DUI in the state of Texas can be a very costly and stressful event. Along with fines and penalties, you can expect your insurance premium to spike significantly. Breathe Easy Insurance Solutions has a DUI insurance program that will satisfy all DMV requirements and prevent your premium from increasing dramatically. Our trained DUI agents will file your SR-22 and give you options to help you find the best policy that will meet your coverage needs and budget. Our staff is available to answer any questions regarding insurance or the DMV process. Feel free to call so we can provide a solution that will work for you.
In the state of Texas, a driver is considered intoxicated when her or his blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is higher than 0.08. For commercial drivers, the BAC is a slightly lower 0.04. Minors or drivers under 21 cannot have a BAC higher than 0.01.
In Texas, your license will be suspended for failing a blood/breath test or refusing a blood/breath test. However, if your Texas driver's license was valid when you refused or failed the blood/breath test, you will be eligible for a temporary permit 40 days after your initial arrest.
Minimum Insurance Requirements in TX
30,000 - Bodily injury.
60,000 - Bodily injury to all persons involved in accident.
25,000 - Property damage.
What is an SR-22, and how long will I need an SR-22 on file?
An SR-22 is a certificate that notifies the DMV that you have the basic limits of liability to legally operate a vehicle. Without an SR-22 on file with the DMV, your license will remain suspended. Basically, an SR-22 is “proof of insurance” that the DMV requires so you can obtain your restricted license.
Breathe Easy Insurance has a unique SR-22 filing strategy that will satisfy the DMV requirements, get your license back, and provide a policy at an affordable rate. You'll be required to maintain an SR-22 on file with the DMV for a 2 year period.
Ignition Interlock Device
An ignition interlock device is used to measure whether alcohol is present in your bloodstream. The IID is connected to the ignition of your vehicle. If you have been drinking, the vehicle will not start. Depending on the circumstances of your case, you may have to install an IID. If you receive 2 or more DUI convictions within 5 years, you are probably going to have to install an IID.
Additional Fees Associated With a DUI
In Texas, after your 1st DUI, you will be forced to pay a surcharge of $1,000.00 dollars a year for 3 years. For a 2nd or 3rd DUI, your surcharge will be $1,500.00 dollars annually for 3 years.
|1st DUI||2nd DUI||3rd DUI|
|Jail Time||3 days. If an open alcohol container was present, 6 days.||30 days in jail.||2 to 5 years in prison.|
|Suspension||1 year suspension.||2 year suspension.||2 year suspension.|
|Ignition Interlock||May be required depending on circumstances.||Required if you have two or more DUI convictions in a 5 year period.||Required if you have two or more DUI convictions in a 5 year period.|
|Alcohol Classes||DUI convictions in the state of Texas require participation in an alcohol education program.||DUI convictions in the state of Texas require participation in an alcohol education program.||DUI convictions in the state of Texas require participation in an alcohol education program.|