Washington State Auto Insurance and DUI / SR-22 Information
Breathe Easy Insurance Solutions' DUI insurance program and SR-22 filing strategy helps drivers in the state of Washington save hundreds of dollars a month on car insurance. Our staff understands the Department of Licensing's rules and regulations, which helps us assist our customers when filing an SR-22 or shopping for an insurance policy.
Understanding the law is crucial to minimizing your costs after a DUI infraction. The state of Washington follows the standard (.08) limit regarding impaired drivers. However, the state of Washington has a lower rate for impaired drivers under twenty one (.02) and commercial impaired drivers (.04).
Minimum Insurance Requirements in WA State
25,000 - Bodily injury.
50,000 - Bodily injury to all persons involved in accident.
10,000 - Property damage.
What is an SR-22, and how long will I need an SR-22 on file?
Another common phrase for an SR-22 is, “Proof of financial responsibility.” In other words, the Department of Licensing wants to know you can financially cover damages caused by an accident. An SR-22 is a certificate attached to an insurance policy. This certificate is required by the Washington Department of Licensing after a DUI conviction, reckless driving, or driving without insurance. In order to reinstate a license, this certificate will be required, whether you own a vehicle or not. Without an SR-22, a driver’s license will remain in suspension.
In most cases you will need an SR-22 on file for three years. This time period starts from the date of the original suspension.
Ignition Interlock License and Ignition Interlock Device
WA State requires drivers to install an Ignition Interlock Device in their vehicle after an alcohol or drug related infraction. An Ignition Interlock Drivers License must first be obtained in order for the driver to install and administer an IID. Application for an IIL is permitted at any time. All fees must be paid associated with the IID.
Additional Fees Asscoiated with a DUI
A three pay $100.00 fee must be paid to the DOL to obtain restricted license. All fees associated with IID installation along with $20.00 a month, unless waived.
|1st DUI||2nd DUI||3rd DUI|
|Fines||$350 - $5,000 ($880 total min.)||$500 - $5,000 ($1,200 total min.)||$1,000 - $5,000 ($2,100 total min.)|
|Jail Time||24 hours||30 days minimum.||90 days minimum.|
|Suspension||90 day suspension.||2 year revocation.||3 year revocation.|
|Alcohol Classes||Determined by the court.||Determined by the court.||Determined by the court.|